What does exercise mean to you?

11 04 2011
Jessica Peacock

Jessica Peacock

Exercise is the best predictor of long-term weight loss maintenance. This means that if you hope to lose weight and keep it off, you will need to stay consistent with regular physical activity. This might seem difficult to some people – who wants to sweat and do all that work for the rest of their lives?!

I do!

Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t always liked exercise. However, once I gave it some time I realized that the hard work I was putting into it didn’t really feel like “work” anymore. Sure it can be difficult; but that’s what I really like about it now. Being active gives me a chance to challenge myself, and to prove to myself that I am capable of more than I once thought. I used to be embarrassed at sweating in the gym, but now I wear my sweat like a badge of honor – its proof that I worked really hard and accomplished something great! Exercise makes me feel strong and powerful, which helps me feel good about myself.

Exercise doesn’t have to be work. In fact, it can be really fun! My favorite part of the day is walking our dogs in the evening and catching up with my husband about his day. If you plan to be active for the rest of your life, it will help to find something about exercise that you enjoy, whether that be the energy and improved mood it gives you, the wonderful health benefits you receive, or even simply the knowledge that exercising regularly will help you maintain a healthy weight. You may not feel entirely positive about exercise now, but give it some time – you may just find there’s more to like about it than you thought.

To me, exercise is my outlet, my strength, and my sanity. What does exercise mean to you?

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 08 2013
sheda mae

exercise ultimately means more time and better quality and the habits I adopt now will hopefully be habits they adopt as well.

11 04 2011
Brian Roberts

What helps me is to make my exercise at the gym enjoyable. I will change the order I do things in to mix it up so that my mind doesn’t get bored. Sometimes I put a show on my ipod so that I can watch something I enjoy while on the treadmill. It makes the time pass easier. I also like to reward myself after a good workout. Looking forward to doing something can be real motivation. Exercise ultimately means more time and better quality time with my family and the habits I adopt now will hopefully be habits they adopt as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

