Exercise hurts . . . sometimes.

12 10 2011

Sam Zizzi

Sam Zizzi


The other day I decided to go for a run after a long day at work while my wife watched our two kids. Now, I do love being active but running is not my strongest pursuit nor my favorite activity. I much prefer walking or playing a sport. However, recently I have been inspired by a few friends to “pick it up a notch” to see what might happen if I add some more vigorous activity into my weekly routine.

So, back to my story. For the first 5-10 minutes of my run (more like a slow jog, but if feels better to say run), most of my body hurt. My knees hurt, my head hurt, and in general, it just didn’t feel very good. It did get better that day and I did survive. It actually was a beautiful fall day outside. Afterwards I was beat, and I said to my wife, “that was really hard today.” And she followed up with a very encouraging comment, “good for you, nice job sticking with it!” I really appreciated her comment that day because I was struggling to find any good that came out of it. But looking back, I was satisfied that I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and accomplished something with my own effort. No one took a step for me, no one helped me continue through discomfort. These things, regardless of weight loss or miles traveled, are meaningful. Few meaningful things in life are accomplished without hard work.

Sometimes in your own path to health, you will have these types of days, weeks, or even months. You get to decide whether to stop or push through these moments . . . so what will you do?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

