Quick Tips: Be Prepared to Snack

17 04 2013
Pete Kadushin

Pete Kadushin

Good Afternoon Folks,

I wanted to take some time today to show you one of the ways I’ve been able to improve my nutrition over the past year, as well as how I’ve simplified a number of my food choices throughout the day.  Someone once told me “Prior planning prevents poor performance,” and as I get older, the more this rings true.  In weight loss and maintenance, like life, planning ahead and being prepared will go a long way in facilitating success.

Looking at my own experience, I end up spending a lot of hours in my office, and in the past it has been easy to; a) skip meals, or b) wait until I was so hungry (re: my blood sugar had dropped since I hadn’t eaten in so long!) that I was willing to eat anything that wasn’t nailed down.

The solution for me came in the empty drawer I had at the bottom of my desk.  I’ve slowly converted this into a full time pantry, and it has given me a lot of options when it comes time to keeping myself fueled throughout each day.

snackdrawer_photo

A nicely organized snack drawer!

Contents:

Stacy’s Everything Bagel Chips (to go with the hummus that is in the fridge!)

Clif Bars (~280 calories/bar, with a lot of tasty flavors to choose from)

Krema Peanut Butter (I prefer crunchy…others prefer smooth.  The important thing is to look for a peanut butter that doesn’t have added sugar or oil.  The ingredients on this jar… peanuts. That’s it!)

Fuji Apples (great for snacking alone, or with a few tablespoons of peanut butter)

Bananas (I often make a peanut butter and banana sandwich to hold me over between lunch and dinner)

Tortilla Wraps (Rather than having white bread, I side with the whole grain wrap, which works well with my PB & Banana sandwiches as well as with other meals)

Reed’s Ginger Chews (I’ve got a sweet tooth, I’d be lying if I said otherwise.  Rather than keep candy lying around the office, I keep my desk stocked with these chews.  The ginger provides anti-inflammatory effects, to help me feel better after a tough workout)

Soy Nuts (Something to put on salad and/or to eat on their own.  Lightly salted, and a great source of protein in the middle of the day)

Not seen here:

I also keep Chobani greek yogurt in the fridge, it’s a great source of protein, and the 5.3 oz cups are a good size for a snack.

In the end, the contents of your snack drawer will likely be different from mine.  What I do know is that I end up making better decisions about what I snack on when I have some tasty, and healthy, options close at hand!

Happy Snacking!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

