Fuel Up Your Body Every Day, the Right Way

2 08 2013

I often get asked, “Is it important to eat breakfast?” My usual answer is a resounding “Yes!” I suppose being a lifetime breakfast eater makes me biased. I can’t imagine

starting my day without the proper fuel to get me going. When I don’t eat breakfast, I feel sluggish and “foggy” and have a hard time focusing on my work. I am distracted

Cathy Shaw

Cathy Shaw

easily by my growling stomach and generally end up eating haphazardly throughout my day, my body missing out on essential nutrients that it craves from a super charged breakfast of whole grain cereal, milk and juice. But I get it, not everybody is a breakfast fan. Here are a few reasons why you might want to reconsider your feelings on the subject:

  • Eating breakfast gives you a mental advantage. We know studies have shown that children who eat breakfast are more focused and attentive and do better in school. The same thing can be applied to adults. You will be more focused and able to concentrate on tasks and duties at work and home.
  • Breakfast gives you fuel your body needs. Your body has been fasting several hours and energy stores start to deplete. If you don’t refuel, your body starts to fatigue and you can become too hungry which can lead to overeating and poor food choices later.
  • Eating a healthy breakfast can help you maintain a healthy weight. People who skip breakfast are found to be at greater risk for weight gain and obesity.
  • Healthy breakfast eaters often consume more nutrients such as calcium, vitamin D, vitamin C, fiber, protein and iron. Be sure to include things like whole grain cereals, skim milk, yogurt and fruit.

Not a breakfast fan? Start small. Try adding a piece of fruit or whole grain toast in the morning. If the thought of food turns you off, try drinking your breakfast. Homemade fruit smoothies are a quick and healthy way to start your day without feeling weighed down by a full meal. Try this recipe to get you going in the morning:

Berry Banana Breakfast Smoothie

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

4oz fat free vanilla Greek yogurt

8oz skim milk

½ medium banana

1 cup frozen sliced strawberries (or other frozen berries)

Directions:

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. May add more or less milk to desired consistency, but remember this will change the nutrient content.

Nutrition facts per serving: 139 calories, 26g carbohydrate, 0g fat, 10g protein, 91mg sodium

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

